Day 1 of Wig Free Week

front doorSo I survived Day 1 without my wig!  And what a day it has been…

Here is my boyfriend Tim and I outside our flat this morning.  Leaving the house was probably the hardest part of the day as it felt really bizarre to leave my wig behind – like I had forgotten something!

Walking down the street and feeling the wind on my head felt equally strange and I kept catching my reflection in cars and shop windows and being surprised to see my bald head.

tubeI was really glad that Tim had agreed to commute into work with me because it was good to have his support and the distraction of someone to talk to and take my mind off being wig-free.

However, despite my fear that strangers would stare at me on the tube, I actually found that people didn’t really pay me much attention!  I guess the advantage of being in a busy city like London is that there is so much diversity that people don’t really notice when someone looks a bit different to everyone else.

officeI must admit that I was nervous as I went into the office, as I knew that my colleagues would be curious to see me wig-free for the first time.  But everyone was so kind and supportive, and I had a big bunch of flowers waiting for me on my desk!

I had another lovely surprise later in the morning when one of my colleagues arranged a shout-out on Classic FM about my Wig Free Week fundraising.  I was so confused when I heard my name coming from the radio, and it took me a while to understand what was going on!  Click here if you would like to listen again to the programme, just after 1hr 19minutes.

bakeoff

After lunch my work (Rhinegold Publishing) had organised a bakeoff in aid of Wig Free Week and AAR-UK.  There was an array of autumnal themed bakes from blackberry curd macarons to maple and pear cheesecake!  We all enjoyed the judging (and eating!) and £74 was raised for my fundraising campaign.  Needless to say I was on a bit of a sugar high for the rest of the afternoon!

cocktailTim met me after work for a surprise date.  All I knew was that I should wear ‘comfortable’ shoes so I had no idea what to expect!

I was delighted though to discover that he was taking me to Bounce, the ping pong bar in Holborn for dinner and a table tennis lesson!  We enjoyed pizzas and cocktails and then he put me through my paces and got me working on my backhand!

pingpongI enjoyed myself so much this evening and almost forgot that I wasn’t wearing my wig.  Again, no-one stared at me or made me feel uncomfortable in the way that I thought they might, which was a big relief!

Even after the first day of Wig Free Week, I am already starting to realise that I don’t have to be ashamed of my baldness and that maybe I can be attractive without my wig.  I certainly have had a lot of fun and felt a lot more confident than I thought I would!

1 day down, 6 to go.  Wish me luck! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of Wig Free Week

  1. Well done Tim clearly a table tennis player in the making …..HaHa ! Looks like you both enjoyed your day . Much love Mutti x

    Like

  2. You have such a beautiful shaped head and look great bald. I know it isn’t first choice but at least you rock it. And you are brave. It will help others who suffer silently. Keep shining brightly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

