Day 2 of Wig Free Week

tube2After all the excitement and adrenaline of Day 1, I was pretty exhausted this morning, and am beginning to realise that a week is rather a long time!  Will need some serious stamina to make it to Sunday in one piece!

My friend Sophie came with me on the tube this morning and again, it was nice to have company and someone to chat to during the journey.

pretI found being wig-free at work a bit harder today because the novelty had slightly worn off and it was ‘business as usual’.  For some reason sitting at my desk in the office feels more nerve-wracking than walking around outside – I think perhaps because my colleagues are so used to seeing me with hair that I worry they think I look weird without it!

I got lunch in Pret and took a ‘wig free lunch’ pic. Going up to the counter to pay I kind of expected the cashier to do a double-take when she saw that I had no hair, but she didn’t bat an eyelid.  People seem far less surprised to see a bald woman than I thought they might be!

coteAt 5.30 I walked down to the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, as the Editor of the magazine that I work on, Opera Now, had kindly managed to get me a pair of tickets to see Bizet’s Carmen – ‘wig free opera’!

I met my friend Rachel for a quick pre-theatre dinner and then we dashed into the opera house to take our seats.  We were both dressed up in cocktail dresses and heels, as I had decided that I wanted to see how people would react to me being bald in a more formal environment.

operaA few people did give me a second glance, but it often seemed more out of curiosity than judgement.

At one point, a man came up to me and told me that I looked very beautiful and that it was brave of me to go out bald!  When I told him about my Wig Free Week he was genuinely interested and wished me luck with my fundraising efforts.  It was really touching to be complimented by a complete stranger, especially when I was feeling a bit vulnerable!

rohThe opera was wonderful and we had a really fun evening.  And overall it was another good wig-free day!  2 down, 5 to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

