Day 7 of Wig Free Week

onesieOn the last day of Wig Free Week I must admit, I was feeling pretty exhausted!  It has been an absolute rollercoaster of a week, with activities every day and evening, and I have barely sat still or had a moment to chill since Monday.  So I spent most of the day in a Pikachu onesie as we tidied the flat after last night’s Halloween party!

walkLater on, Tim and I went for a walk through Brockwell park amongst the beautiful Autumn leaves.  Tim has been my rock throughout this week as well as during all of the planning, and has supported me 100% from the start.  I feel so lucky to have found a partner who encourages me to be true to myself and loves me for who I am.
cookingLater on, I did some wig-free cooking, as we had invited friends over for an End of Wig Free Week party!  It was a great opportunity to celebrate the end of the week, but also to thank some of the people who have donated, supported and helped along the way.  I couldn’t have done it without them!

After dinner we raised a glass for a toast and I did a little thank you speech, before taking a group photo.

partyThe week has been amazing, and so much more positive than I ever could have hoped!  I have had barely any negative moments, and have found it far less emotional than I thought I would.

I am actually not really looking forward to putting my wig back on.  I have enjoyed the freedom of going out without it, and have learned to embrace the way I look.  I am now considering not wearing it some of the time, for example when it’s hot, because it is so much more comfortable without it.

groupI never thought I would come this far in such a short space of time, and I am amazed at how my perception of myself has changed.

And let’s not forget why I was doing it in the first place, to raise money for a very good cause!  I have raised almost £8,000 for Autoimmune Alopecia Research UK which is absolutely wonderful.  I hope to continue being a part of the charity, and maybe to make Wig Free Week an annual event!

Thank you all so much for your support.  I did it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

